Author: Amanda

Maryland to invest $890M to expand I-95 express lanes into Harford County

Two more express toll lanes are coming to northbound Interstate 95 leading into Harford County, after the state announced Friday morning that it would invest an additional $890 million in the project.   Gov. Larry Hogan initially announced plans in December for a $210 million project to create a 7.75 mile, single lane extension as part of his Baltimore Traffic Relief Plan. But now the expanded $1.1 billion project will see the construction of two express lanes, stretching for more than 10 miles from north of Maryland Route 43 in Baltimore County to north of Route 24 in Harford County. Construction is expected to begin early next year, according to a Maryland Transportation Authority release. Click here to continue reading…   Credit:  Jessica Iannetta | Baltimore Business Journal Please follow and like...

Read More

DOT Announces $1.5 Billion for Significant Projects

U.S. Transportation Secretary Elaine Chao June 8 announced the award of $1.5 billion in federal grants to support 26 highway and freight improvement project in 23 states. The Georgia Department of Transportation will receive the largest grant—$184 million for an express lanes project. The smallest award is $6 million to the University of Alabama to construct a bridge over an existing rail line.   The House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee released the list of recipients June 5.   The funds to support these grants were authorized by the 2015 FAST Act surface transportation reauthorization law under a newly created “Nationally Significant Freight and Highway Projects Program” that would provide on average $900 million a year to support projects with a minimum total cost of $100 million (10 percent of the available resources are reserved for small projects with a minimum cost of $5 million).   The Trump administration announced last year that it was repurposing the program to focus on innovation and leveraging federal funds. According to a Nov. 7, 2017, statement, “The new program will increase the impact of projects by leveraging capital and allowing innovation in the project delivery and permitting processes, including public-private partnerships.” The administration also announced it was renaming the program as “Infrastructure for Rebuilding America Grant” or “INFRA Grants.” Click here to continue reading…   Credit: Dean Franks, Sr. VP, Congressional Relations, ARTBA | Washington Newsline Please follow and like...

Read More

Gov. Larry Hogan Celebrates Opening of New Dover Bridge

The governor was joined by Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Deputy Secretary Jim Ports, MDOT State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) Administrator Greg Slater, state and local officials, residents, businesses and project team members. Motorists began using the new Dover Bridge the afternoon of June 12.   The governor arrived at the event after taking the final drive across the old Dover Bridge in a 1941 Buick owned and driven by Darlene Spence, who is affiliated with the St. Michaels Classic Motor Museum. The old bridge, which is being restored as a historic structure, will remain in the open position and serve as a fishing pier for local residents and visitors.   “I am pleased to announce the completion of this critically important project as we officially open the new Dover Bridge over the Choptank River — something that people have requested for decades,” said Hogan. “Our administration is proud to not only get it built but deliver this project a full year ahead of schedule. We are working hard to rebuild our transportation infrastructure on the Eastern Shore and all across the state.” Click here to continue reading…   Credit: Construction Equipment Guide Please follow and like...

Read More

June 20, 2018

The following individuals successfully completed the certification exam: Gary Abell Mark Baur Jose Benitez Ashley Bennett Jerad Boyd Jason Cadden Kevin Chadwell Ricky Charles Cody Chesser Lindy Davis Yilma Desta James Eisentrout II Mike Fiala Robert Garaba Randi Grout Brian Hare Douglas Hartley Danny Henehan Steve Johnson Bryan Kaszowski Kurt Kraus Devrone McKnight Eddie Medina Debra Mirabile David Moulton Michael O’Melia Darryle Randall Edward Rubio John Rymer Jason Schmelz Jerry Schreiner Umar Tariq Orlando Thiess Brandon Wilkins Tsedenia Zelleke Please follow and like...

Read More

June 14, 2018

The following individuals successfully completed the certification exam: Abioduni Abudu Adeniyi Aluko Timothy Anderson Brady Anderson Douglas Baker Kenneth Bass, Jr. Christopher Biggerstaff Mike DeLoach Kolawole Fadairo Carroll Highsmith, Sr. Allen Howe Travis Johnson Michael Larson Timothy Leverage Shane Maragh Glen Martz Keith McAlexander Eric McClanahan Rafael Mejia Jessica Powell Brandon Quidas William Rose Syed Safi Iqbal Sayed Mohammod Jamison Scott Ray Shulmar, Jr. Eric Srack Richard Wilson, Jr. Jeffrey Wright Muhammad Zafarullah Please follow and like...

Read More

Stay connected!